Revenue Churn is a measure of the lost revenue. Like most subscription metrics, there is no universal definition. Revenue Churn is most often expressed as a whole number (rather than a ratio) but can be expressed as the actual lost revenue or more commonly, a normalized value such as MRR. Normalizing Revenue churn to a common denominator facilities reporting and communicating of real changes much the way "same stores" sales reporting works in the retail industry. If all your contracts were the same length, say 12 months exactly, reporting your churn (lost revenue) could be reported as an annual number and make sense. However, if you have a mix of 6 month, 12 month, and 24 month agreements, normalizing the approximately monthly revenue that would be recognized provides a more informative revenue churn number.
Revenue Churn can be reported in aggregate, but is often reported in categories or buckets, for example:
At the highest levels in the organization (CEO and CFO), there are two revenue churn measurements that are typically important.
As you move down and/or into other business units or functions, it is common to report revenue churn at a more detailed level. For example, the sales team is frequently not held accountable nor given relief for cancellations due to bankruptcy and mergers, so you will often see the Revenue Churn from lost/cancelled customers broken down by reason codes.
SaaSOptics, the only subscription management platform specifically designed for emerging a...
I often talk about B2B SaaS metrics from the perspective of what investors want. If you do...